Elevated

Two very strange elevator experiences took place for me this evening, en seguidas…

On Wednesdays, I finish giving an English class to two little boys around 7.30 pm. Their apartment is right across the corner from mine. Yoga is at 8, and I stop quickly by my place to put down my things and change.

Arriving in my apartment building, I see a man enter the right elevator. I noticed that he saw me enter the building, but instead of waiting, went up in the elevator, which is a little strange because usually people wait and ask if you are coming up as well. The last few days the left elevator was out of service, but today the sign was gone, So I pushed the button, and it came down. I begin to go up the elevator and it stops. The inner door opens, like I have arrived at my floor, but I see a brick wall and below the top half of a door. But, the door will not open between floors. I push all the buttons and nothing happens. I push the emergency button, and through the speakers comes a voice of a lady from the elevator company. “Estas atrapada? Are you trapped?” We were talking for a few seconds, but then I think she put me on hold. I was starting to get a little nervous.. because I wanted to make it to yoga! I was sending a text to my roommate “Estoy atrapada dento del asensor!” as I heard people talking outside the door. Weirdly I did not say anything, but then I heard “alguien adentro?” Is someone inside? I said yes, and then the outer door opened and the portero was below. I could their heads down near where my feet where, and had to hop down between the wall above me to the floor.  We were on the 5th floor and I joined a man, his son and stoller on their way up in the right elevator.

After quickly changing, I got into the right elevator to go back down. It started going down, but stopped very shortly after at the 7th floor and a man got in. I was facing towards the door, with a mirror behind. So the man was staring at the mirror upon walking into the elevator. I said “hola” and instead of even looking at me, he was staring in the mirror, messing a little with his face and hair, then turned back around to face the door. I was staring at him the whole time and he was staring forward. When we got to the bottom, he opened the elevator door and lobby door without even looking back or holding the door open. I pass him before we reach the outside fence, therefore I open the gate and hold it open for him to be able to catch it. But, as I am looking back, he totally turns his head backwards. I was just thinking, how akward is this guy or very afraid!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment